Been away a long time…

1. From Canada…

On April 29th I celebrated my three-year anniversary in Hong Kong. “Celebrate” is a bit rich because I didn’t remember until I was on the boat back home after dinner with a friend. So I sent her a SMS and told my boyfriend and went to sleep.

But. I should have known something was up. I had been stressing about real things and not so real things (what exactly did he mean when he said this?) and on that very day I had a real craving for a bacon and cheese pizza. And so I went out with a friend for a burger and forgot to pay my share of the bill. And before my mentor bought me two glasses of red wine. So it’s like a celebration. On the cheap and without me knowing.

It’s too humid/cloudy/busy for me to wax lyrical about lessons learned, but perhaps the biggest indicator of my decision to move to Hong Kong has been the travel that’s gone with it. Since emerging from customs that fateful day in 2007, here are the countries I’ve seen: (a little or a lot) Australia, Cambodia, Canada, China, England, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Macau, Malaysia, Namibia, Spain, Switzerland and Thailand.

2. From this blog…

Ate up the leftovers in the fridge, overpacked and left the books at home. Flew 10 hours to Australia and for 10 days didn’t even pretend to accomplish something. Oh, I read three terrible books and figured out the sports setting on my G10.

And I learned a few things:

  • It is okay to drop it all, hate the books you read and do a taste test of sausage rolls only to discover that you never one want to eat one again
  • That I really might one day weigh lifestyle and career (I thought people just said that, and didn’t actually do it)
  • The beach solves writers’ block. It really does.

I thought I would get started on the next 25,000 words of the book, but decided to leave the laptop at home and just zone out. In hindsight, I’ve been so busy since I’ve been back that I haven’t had a chance to pick up the book. But I did squeak out a 3,000 word story. Inspiration has returned. And the beach solves writers’ block.

3. From a social life…

It started with a work trip to Shanghai, but since then I’ve had a couple of dinners out, but mostly I’m up at 5 a.m. studying/writing. In the evenings, rinse and repeat. I haven’t even gone for a jog lately, completely messing up the whole endorphin thing.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Been away a long time…

  1. You are so traveled! This summer I’ll be adding France, England, Italy and Greece to my list.

    🙂 Which country is your absolute favourite?

Leave a Reply

